Stations of the Cross - 01 - Jesus is Condemned to Death Stations of the Cross - 02 - Jesus Takes His Cross Stations of the Cross - 03 - Jesus Falls for the First Time Stations of the Cross - 04 - Jesus Meets His Grieving Mother Stations of the Cross - 05 - Simon of Cyrene Helps Jesus Carry His Cross Stations of the Cross - 06 - Veronica Wipes the Face of Jesus Stations of the Cross - 07 - Jesus Falls for the Second Time
Stations of the Cross - 08 - Jesus Meets the Women of Jerusalem Stations of the Cross - 09 - Jesus Falls for the Third Time Stations of the Cross - 10 - Jesus is Stripped of His Garments Stations of the Cross - 11 - Jesus is Nailed to the Cross Stations of the Cross - 12 - Jesus Dies on the Cross Stations of the Cross - 13 - The Body of Jesus is Taken Down from the Cross Stations of the Cross - 14 - The Body of Jesus is Laid in the Tomb
For from him and through him and for him are all things. To him be the glory forever! Amen.

St. Joseph’s Parish History

1900 Port Moody Catholics, on their own initiative, procured services of Oblate Fathers at New Westminster. Mass was celebrated monthly in homes, and later in a school rented for the services.
1911 Archbishop Neil McNeil approves purchase of property and building of a Church.
1912 St. Joseph’s opens its first church.
1913-1915 Father Felix Kienz is the first resident pastor.
1916 Father F. H. Teck and Father J. P. O’Neill, O.M.I.
1917 Father J. Marcucci
1918 Father Thomas Doheny
1921-1927 Father John Paré
1927-1932 Father Matthew Collins. Following his tenure there is no resident priest in Port Moody until 1946.
1933 Father Laurence Bourrie (from Holy Rosary Cathedral)
1934-1943 Father T. Finnegan, joint pastor of St. Michaels, Sapperton, and St. Joseph’s, Port Moody, then, from 1938, joint pastor of Port Coquitlam and Port Moody.
1943-1946 Father James Barry, pastor of Port Coquitlam and Port Moody.
1946 Resident pastor assigned again to Port Moody.
1946-1952 Father R. J. Carroll
1947 Rectory purchased
1952-1953 Father J. Bortignon, followed by Redemptorist Fathers N. Killingsworth and C. Tedlock
1953-1966 Father Albert Zsigmond
1962-1963 New church erected. Parish partitioned for new parish of All Saints.
1963, Feb. 10 First Mass in the new church
1963, Mar. 17 Blessing of new church by Archbishop Martin Michael Johnson
1966-1967 Father Joseph O’Grady
1967 Parish served from Holy Rosary Cathedral, Fathers R. Mika, P. Mallon, D. Monroe, J. Tritschler.
1967-1969 Father Michael Bach
1969-1972 Father James Roberts
1972 Father Hugh A. MacDonald
1972-1975 Father Nick Boomars
1975-1982 Msgr. Angelo Sacchi
1982-1989 Father Bernard Rossi
1984 The portable classrooms for the C.C.D. were installed and opened to accommodate the growing enrollment.
1985 A five acre parcel of land in the eastern section of Port Moody was acquired for future development.
1989-1997 Father Stanley Galvon
1992 Church extension completed adding a foyer and balcony, increasing seating capacity from 270 to 400.
1997-1998 Father Patrick Tepoorten
1998-2003 Father Augustine Obiwumma
2003-2013 Father Joseph Hieu Nguyen
2012 St Joseph’s Parish Centennial
2013-2015 Father Richard Au
2015-present Father Thomas Arackal, I.M.S.
St. Joseph's Church - 1912

St. Joseph’s first church opened in 1912

Fr. Albert Zsigmond

Fr. Albert Zsigmond served at St. Joseph’s from 1953-1966, the longest pastorate served at the parish

St. Joseph's Church - 1963

The current St. Joseph’s church opened in 1963. The belfry was added in 1982.

Fr. Joseph Nguyen

Fr. Joseph Hieu Nguyen served as St. Joseph’s Parish pastor from 2003-2013